The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger

I was actually looking forward to reading this book, because I happen to like the movie. Long story short: I really shouldn’t have been looking forward to reading this book.

Story just a little longer: This books is slow, and it feels like nothing really happens, even though obviously things happen. Those things just weren’t all that interesting. Except for a few minor exceptions, this book seems pierced together by a string of meaningless events.

Also I don’t really think Andrea or Andy, the main character, is all that likable, which might be Lauren Weisberger’s point. I guess under all the seemingly meaninglessness, there might be a hidden critique of the vain fashion world, inhuman bosses and Andrea’s transformation from lovable daughter and friend to workaholic and fashion conscious.

I don’t think this was a good read, but it isn’t necessarily a bad read. What seems like a string of meaningless events to me, might be a great read for some. I can acknowledge that some people might like this book, if they like reading about the problems of a twenty something working her first job out of college as an assistant for a heartless, unreasonable boss.


“’You remind me of myself when I was your age.’ […] I grabbed my bag and hers as well and wondered if this was the proudest or the most humiliating moment of my life.” – page 368

Leave a Reply

