My Mad Fat Diary by Rae Earl

My Mad Fat Diary is funny, relatable and sometimes slightly annoying.

My Mad Fat Diary is the diary of Rae Earl, a 17-year-old, who loves food, boys and music. She has mental health issues, and when we are introduced to her, in the beginning of 1989, she has previously been admitted to a mental hospital. We follow Rae as she doesn’t get along with her mother, doesn’t get along with her “friend” Bethany, as she makes new friends, obsess over boys, obsess over music, struggles with her body image and her love for food.

And let me just say; this is a review of the book, not the TV-show. Apparently  the TV-show is quite different from the book, especially the story line. I liked the TV-show a lot, but this book is not the TV-show. They’re both great in their own way, but I am keeping them separate in my head, because to me they are two different stories about the same girl.

Even though I relate so immensely to many of Rae’s thoughts, I can’t relate to all of them, and sometimes Rae does get slightly annoying, but of course she does. You’re inside someone else’s head. Even the people I love the most in the world, can make me so infuriated and be so incredibly annoying, but that doesn’t mean I stop loving, let alone liking them.

And I did like this book, a lot. Rae puts so much of herself out there. It’s so brave and real. She hits the nail on the head with her description of what it feels like to be the fat girl. The one who thinks no boy will ever love her, unless she changes the way she looks. How hard it is to love your body, when you think no one else will. Rae Earl is awesome for putting it all out there and making you see the inner turmoil of her inner self.

Leave a Reply

