Quotes I Liked – Miss Peregrines Home For Peculiar Children

“I had just come to accept that my life would be ordinary when extraordinary things began to happen.” – page 12

“All I could think was that grandfathers were supposed to die in beds, in hushed places humming with machines, not in heaps on the sodden reeking ground with ants marching over them, a brass letter opener clutched in one trembling hand.” – page 36

“‘When someone won’t let you in, eventually you stop knocking.’” – page 88

“[…] how many more like him these fields held, undiscovered, arrested in death; how many more had given up their lives here, looking for heaven.” – page 105

“All because of a seventy-year-old hurt that had somehow been passed down to me like some poisonous heirloom, and monsters I couldn’t fight because they were all dead, beyond killing or punishing or any kind of reckoning.” – page 108

“’We’re peculiar,’ he replied, sounding a bit puzzled. ‘Aren’t you?’” – page 146

“’If you must fail,’ he said grandly, ‘fail spectacularly.’” – page 326

“I had always known the sky was full of mysteries – but not until now had I realized how full of them earth was.” – page 342

“Sometimes it’s better not to look back.” – page 350

“I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary. I had simply failed to notice how extraordinary it was.” – page 351

“I wondered how such calm could belong to a world of war.” – page 352

Leave a Reply

