Quotes I Liked – When God Was A Rabbit Part 2

“‘Memories, […] no matter how small or inconsequential, are the pages that define us.'” – page 122

“I am here but I am not yours” – page 131

“I watched him weave in and out of parents holding cigarettes and lager instead of their children’s hands.” – page 133

“‘Do I believe in a mystery; the unexplained phenomenon that is life itself. The greater something that illuminates inconsequence in our lives; that gives us something to strive for as well as the humanity to brush ourselves down and start all over again. Then yes, I do. It is the source of art, of beauty, of love, and proffers the ultimate goodness to mankind. That to me is God. That to me is life. That is what I believe in.'” – page 141-142

“‘There is absolutely no reason at all why a rabbit should not be God.'” – page 142

“That’s what she wrote; with an ironic exclamation mark. It had the power to break a heart.” – page 185

“The sound of the trunk fracturing and splintering and falling to earth was the sound his heart would have made, could it speak.” – page 215

“His own death he’d made peace with years ago, but everyone else’s still frightened him and so he held her hand to not let her go.” -page 217

“‘I have the not-knowing again and I feel scared.'” – page 248

“I saw them hold hands and jump; witnessed the last seconds of their friendship and they never let go.” – page 254

“Everyone had a story of grief. Everyone else’s was worse than yours.” – page 259

“When sweets were a penny and god was a rabbit.” – 269

“‘That’s the person I know, and through him is the way you’ll know me, because connected to all these things are moments, and for so many of them, I was there. And that’s the thing that hurts so much. […] You see, you were the only person who knew everything. Because you were there. And you were my witness.'” – page 308

Leave a Reply

